What to do When You’re Bored: 3 Ideas to Get You Through

Jennifer McDougall
3 min readMay 29, 2021

It happens to all of us at some point. There we are, sitting around, staring out the window, wondering what the heck to do with our time. For me, I like to get outside and at least get some fresh air. There are many ways to be productive while not over-exerting yourself if you’re looking for some type of mellow activity.

This morning I went out and got a haircut, which is not something I recommend doing. My hair needed a trim, that’s for sure, but the lady chopped about three inches off my ends, and for a second, I was a bit down about it.

Once I got home, I decided to go down to the pool and read while soaking up the sun. This was a great idea because I was in much need of some warmth and sunlight.

Being bored is a mindset, and it happens to some people more often than others. Being bored doesn’t mean you are boring. It just means you’re experiencing moments of dullness and low excitement, but also a desire to do something, but whatever it is feels out of reach.

While I sit here and write this, I think about how I felt bored just a little bit ago, but I got myself up and outside. I got out my notebook and started writing to create a new blog post. As I have been writing, other ideas have come to mind, such as utilizing some of my past blogs for new social media videos.

--

--

Jennifer McDougall

Your Self-Improvement Bestie | Tune into my podcast LIFE REFINED: The Art of Personal Development Stan.store/jennifermcdougall_